Butterfly Kisses

“And I thank God for all the joy in my life…”  I heard this song in high school and fell in love with it.  I told myself, I wanted to marry a man that would love our kids this way…especially if he have a little girl

Fast-forward to now…

My husband and I were blessed with this beautiful sweet spirit that Heavenly Father entrusted us with, our beautiful Tamila.  Not only is this weekend Father’s Day but in a few days she will be turning eight years old.  She has been such a blessing and has really taught me what it means to love and forgive.  Sometimes I wish my life was “in order” before I had her but I really believe she and her father entered my life when I really needed them most.  I may have not known it then, but I do now.  I have truly been blessed to have two great people in my life that have been my cheerleaders but also loved me, flaws and all.  So this post is dedicated not only to my amazing husband that has been by my side at worst and darkest times but has also celebrated my little triumphs but also to my sweet sweet baby girl.

To My Love,  here is to forever, to more growing, more ups, a few downs (lol), laughs, tears of joy, and being there through the good and bad.  I love you more than I did when I was eighteen.  If I could give you the world and all the good things in it, I would. When we are done raising a family, I will be happy just sharing this journey with you.  I pray for many years to celebrate US.  You’re the best and you’re the real MVP.  Thanks for putting up with my craziness and all the crazy “business” ventures that I’ve had.  Thank you for allowing me to share forever with you and for never giving up on helping me convert as a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, that is probably one of the best things I have because of you.  Tamila being first, of course!  You are my complete opposite, but we work.  I love you more than I think you will ever know.  Here is to infinity and beyond!

To My Heart and Soul, you are everything and more that I prayed for in a daughter.  You love me despite my short comings as a mother.  People don’t know how much you have changed me and want to change to be a better person.  You give me hope for better days.  You are my motivation to finish school and give you what you need in this life so that you can reach for the stars and accomplish everything you touch and turn it to gold 😉 .  I loved you before I met you and I’ll continue to love you forever.  May you stay curious and creative.  That you will never lose yourself in this world and continue to stay true to yourself.  You are enough so do not let anyone tell you that you aren’t.  I’ll love you forever and for always.

A few days ago I asked Tamila (at seven years old) this list of questions about her dad and wanted to share her response.  I’ll try to do it every Father’s Day to see how her answers change over the years.  It’s also a great keepsake idea.  You can find these questions here.

  1. What is something dad always says to you?  He loves me.
  2. What makes dad happy?  When he sees me.
  3. What makes dad sad?  Not seeing me and when people hurt my feelings at school.
  4. How does your dad make you laugh?  When we play and he tickles me.
  5. What was your dad like as a child?  He loved playing sports.  He went to school and had a lot of friends.
  6.  What is his favorite thing to do?  Play basketball at his work.
  7.  What does your dad do when you’re not around?  Make airplane parts because he is at work.
  8.  If your dad becomes famous, what will it be for?  Football and basketball.
  9.  What is your dad really good at?  Loving me and mom
  10.  What is your dad not very good at?  Nothing
  11. What does your dad do for a job? Make airplane parts
  12. What is your dad’s favorite food?  Chinese, El Pollo Loco, mostly everything.
  13. What makes you proud of your dad?  I am proud of him because he doesn’t leave anyone behind and that he is helpful and helps me with my homework.
  14.  If your dad were a cartoon character, who would he be?  The Hulk
  15. What do you and your dad do together?  We go to the park and he teaches me how to play basketball.
  16.  How are you and your dad the same?  We both have brown eyes, we are both tall, we read books, we are Samoan and Tongan.
  17.  How are you and your dad different?  His clothes are bigger and mine are smaller.  I am almost 5’1″ and I think he is 6’9″ .  We don’t go to the same school.  I know a little Samoan and he knows a lot.
  18.  How do you know your dad loves you?  He plays with me and he just loves me!
  19. What does your dad like most about your mom?  He loves her long hair. You know he loves you when he teases you.  You guys kiss when you see each other and when you say good-bye.
  20. Where is your dad’s favorite place to go?  Home.
  21. How old was your dad when you were born?  22
  22. How old is your dad?  27

Listening to her answers I wanted to laugh at some of them but they are very sweet and honest responses.  She really is daddy’s girl, especially since she thinks he is younger than I am. lol.  I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

My Loves
“I’ll always walk by your side”

Time to find a good Pink Sweet Lemonade recipe.  

Leave a Reply

